Goals…

Standard

WHY NOW?   “The executive brain doesn’t hit adult levels until the age of 25,” says Jay Giedd of the National Institute of Mental Health.  I’m pretty sure that’s true.  I’m 25. My brain wants to execute stuff.   It’s bored.  It’s sitting in my head thinking thoughts like “you should be more goal oriented” and “I know what sounds like fun… reading” and “finish those dishes and you can have a glass of wine” and “OOooooo they have plates at 8:30 on Wednesdays!”

Health Health is on everyone’s goal list.  It’s on mine too.  I’ve already joined a gym and started cooking at home AND I am enjoying it.  For the gravity of this to sink in 100% you have to know me.  Normal me is not a wake-up-at-7AM-eat-toast-and-jog.  Normal me likes funyuns & shock tarts.  And sleeping in.  Somewhere between 23 and 25 a switch was flipped.  And now… I donno… all of a sudden I’ve turned into a hybrid of my parents.  Coffee & toast the morning (mom) and a quick trip to the gym (dad) and my executive brain is happy.  I’m altogether pleased with this change.

Family The next biggest change has been my attitude toward family.  I noticed it first with my parents.  They went from being the last people on earth I’d ever share my personal life with to some of the first people I call for advice.  Then there’s how I view my husband.  He isn’t a boyfriend, someone to take to parties and kiss whenever I want.  He’s family, an extension of my family tree and one of the most important things in my life right now.  My goals include things like… having a baby… having a good home life… spending time with these people. 

Work The trick is, I can’t stay stagnant.  I have to keep striving for something.  The next step for me is undoubtedly marketing.  Most people would think sales management.  Nope.  I’d rather be covered in apple juice concentrate and eaten alive by ants.  But marketing… now that’s a next step I can strive toward.  Luckily my company is pretty liberal when it comes to marketing.  I can do as I please as long as it works and doesn’t cost a fortune.   So I’m going to work on marketing and do my best to show that it can produce sales.  Build a portfolio and either move up with my current company or with a different company.  Win win. 

Money Everyone wants to make money.  I hadn’t seriously considered the long-term ramifications of not having enough money in savings until recently.  Maybe 25 is too early to think about retirement.  BUT maybe not.  Because I’m hell-bent and determined to live to see my 100th birthday, buy a house, and have a baby, put that kid through college, and go on a few vacations with my husband in between.  Those are my goals.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

